Over the last week and a half, I’ve noticed some things: like the fact that being sick hasn’t slowed my little boy down much as far as growing goes, nor has it slowed much his interest in learning (he just needs it in more frequent, short chunks than he does when he’s not sick).  I guess I’ve also noticed that having a sick baby during Holy Week isn’t terribly fun – though I’m connecting in some ways, better because of the suffering. 

As a result of a multi-day low-grade fever (hovering around 100 degrees), Justin has been introduced to our friend, Tylenol.  While it didn’t calm him immediately, it did help him sleep through the night for the first time in a few days (my baby doesn’t really like to sleep during the day, so he has to do it all at night – trust me, it’s a mixed blessing).  He was so exhausted… it was so incredibly sad.  This 8 days into his nasty little cold. 

On the upside, taking him to the pediatrician this week meant getting him weighed for the first time in a week, and curiosity got the best of me and I measured his length for the first time since he was born.  So officially at 5 weeks old, Justin Elias Owen is now 23.5 inches long (90th percentile), and 10lbs 9oz (49th percentile).  That’s 2.5 inches in 4 weeks and a whole pound in just 2 weeks.  It also means that we indeed have a little string bean!  Yup, that’s why all his newborn-sized clothes fit him around, but not so much in length (unless I want to snap him into a horendous wedgie). 

In other news, Justin got visited this week by that nasty, terrible, Baby-Acne-Fairy: Baby Acne

 

Yup, our adorable little string bean who prefers to smile only when the camera is NOT on him, also looks a bit like a pock-marked teenager.  Believe it or not, it has gotten worse since this picture, and subsequently a little better today.  Sigh.  It’s a good thing we didn’t set up those professional family photos this week…

 

 

We (along with our friends, the Rush‘s) also were the happy recipients of an awesome baby shower thrown by our Church on Palm Sunday (this past weekend).  We have such awesome friends in our Church, we really do.  We are VERY loved.

  Baby Shower

In other photographic news, below you’ll find my favorite pics of the week:

I set him down for a moment to put on my nursing pillow, he fell alseep on my side of the bed in that 10 seconds.  Bed thief!  You can guess who won that battle (yes, the one with motor control won this battle)!  This is also a good picture showing how long our little boy has gotten.  Matt calls him “glow worm” when he’s in this swaddler.

 

 

 

Justin beats most folks I’ve met at bed-head.  I’m so glad I have this and other pictures like it to torment him in high school…

 

 

 

 

 

